My degree in Political Science and living near Washington DC have given me the wonderful opportunity to meet an amazingly diverse group of people who have in turn enriched the last several years of my life. The downside of this is the ever present conflict that arises on my Facebook page or at social gatherings any time something of political interest happens. My friends and acquaintances run the gambit from exceedingly liberal to exceedingly conservative, and on both end of the spectrum are very intelligent people with very passionate and well informed opinions on almost every major issue. That said it makes it very hard to feel comfortable putting an opinion out there without feeling the need to apologize to one group of friends or the other (or sometimes both). I like to write in order to process events, but I’ve yet to find an outlet where I feel comfortable doing that without offending someone so this is where this blog will come in.

Step away now if you are easily offended, I promise there will be no hard feelings. I respect people weather or not I think the same way they do on an issue. I believe that differences of opinion, even big ones, do not mean that I can not appreciate, respect and love a person. There are smart people on almost every side of the major issues facing our country and world today, and you can’t really make an informed decision unless you take the time to remember that and consider multiple sides to an issue. That said even if I think you’re wrong, (and at some point I think most people are wrong about one thing or another) that doesn’t mean we can’t agree to disagree. I love political and moral discourse as long as it is respectful.

I’m a libertarian, but for most of my life I’ve identified and voted with the Republican Party. This is both baffling and infuriating to some of my more liberal friends, while my more conservative friends and family are frustrated when I’m not a good enough Republican in their eyes. I don’t think my opinions and beliefs line up well with any major political party or group, and I reserve the right to change my mind when I want to. For the most part what I discuss here is meant to be my opinion, and just that, not an endorsement of any particular party or agenda. I’m also a Christian, however I ardently believe that I can not force someone to believe the same as me, nor should I try. I will voice my religious opinion and will answer questions about my faith as best I can, but I believe that faith is the ultimate choice and an individual has the right to make it on their own with the influence of the divine.

All of that said, here goes my experiment in joining the blogging world. I doubt many will notice but maybe it will at least be entertaining to me.

