“But our resolve must not pass. Each of us will remember what happened that day and to whom it happened. We will remember the moment the news came, where we were and what we were doing.”
– President George W. Bush

Every year on this date I struggle to come to terms with how it changed not only my life but how it shaped the country today. Every year I struggle to write something down to come to some sort of closure, come to some sort of understanding, and I am beginning to learn that I may never be able to do so. I may come up with more to say today or some other day, but I think I know deep down, that it will never truly make sense to me. Those of us who watched that day in fear and horror will forever have a hole in our hearts.

I hope we remember the unity we felt, and how we came together in the wake of tragedy. I hope that someday when my children learn about that day I can tell them that while we will never forget the lives lost, we will also never forget that our country is so much greater when we stand together.

 

