Fair warning: this post will be disjointed and unorganized, but honestly that’s where my thoughts are on this issue at the moment and I just need to get them out there (and hey that’s the whole point of this blog). I do hope to get back to semi regular posting once the dust settles from my move, job change and wedding.

 

 

My thoughts on Syria:

Sadly the Oatmeal has some of the most honest commentary of this whole thing

-There are no easy answers or good choices as to who should be in power. People on both sides could be seen as potential threats to our national security.

-Our President did have the right to do something without Congress’ approval, and by placing that restriction on himself he may be significantly changing Presidential war powers for the first time since the War Powers Resolution and the ramifications of that scare me. Politically speaking he was stuck between a rock and a hard place; either seem like he was taking too much power (like Bush) or like he is now be seen as weak.

-I believe wholeheartedly that something has to be done about the use of chemical weapons, however the implications of taking action without global support terrify me.

-Something has to be done to uphold US credibility after the “red line” was crossed, however I don’t know what that action should be.

-At this point we are facing serious retaliation no matter what we do.

